Installing Garmin Connect on Linux

I’m kind of a data-obsessed nerd which translates to me having a few different ways that I track things like my workouts (I’m a triathlete so these are swims, bikes, runs, and whatever cross training I’m into at the moment). One of my favorite tools is my Garmin GPS watch for running. It’s the base model which will run you about $120 but it’s pretty neat and has a lot of cool features. The catch is that there’s no way to get the information off the watch on Linux. Until now.

sudo apt-get install garmin-forerunner-tools

sudo apt-add-repository ppa:andreas-diesner/garminplugin
sudo apt-get update
sudp apt-get install garminplugin

What you’ve done is install the forerunner tools that will allow your computer to see the forerunner and then the plugin is for Firefox. So yeah, that’s the catch, you have to do this in Firefox (and possibly not using the new modern look of Garmin Connect too). So after you’ve installed those things, plug in your Garmin Forerunner, open Firefox to http://connect.garmin.com and then switch to Classic Mode (it’s on your user menu) and click Upload.

 
3
Kudos
 
3
Kudos

Now read this

Pidgin install and configuration

There’s a lot of debate on which is the best chat client but at the end of the day I tend to keep coming back to pidgin. It’s espcially nice in Ubuntu because it integrates with the existing chat functionality in the toolbar. It’s also a... Continue →