Install Ubuntu 14.04 (for idiots.)

About every month or so I decide to reinstall my operating system on my work computer. Sometimes this is because I’ve royally messed something, but it’s just as likely that I’m just bored. Anyways, soup to nuts, here’s what I do when I reinstall my operating system.

  1. Download the iso here.
  2. Burn this to a USB using Ubuntu’s Startup Disk Creator (instructions found here) or using the Universal USB Installer
  3. Plug that bad boy into your USB drive and boot. If you’re not set up to boot from a USB, press either F10, F12, or sometimes F8 (I’ve been known to mash all of them) to get to your boot menu. From there, select USB.
  4. Follow the standard install instructions, selecting to wipe whatever’s there (in my case)

And you’re done! That’s just the beginning though, once you finish the install things get much more complicated.

 
1
Kudos
 
1
Kudos

Now read this

Google Apps in Ubuntu [Plus my favorite Mail/Calendar/Note apps]

I love things that are beautiful and easy to use. With that said, unfortunately most open source developers don’t have the time or the energy to make gorgeous products for the 2% of their population that aren’t running... Continue →